Waves, Wind, and Wings: An Introduction

sagres_2013_thumbI am not an expert on health, or hardships, or happiness — I’m just a creative soul who is trying to figure out my reason to write and my story to tell.

Over the last few years, I have tried to learn how to be more mindful, and I’ve experienced a few bumps in the road along the way. But I continue to come back to this idea: how can you and I find (and create) more happiness in our lives? I definitely can’t say I have much authority on the topic, or even that my ideas are all that original… but there are a few things that I have learned that I think might be worth sharing with the world. And, how can I become an expert if I don’t commit to learning more?

So, I am here to tell you about my experiences riding (and sometimes fighting) the ups and downs of my moods, my ongoing efforts to embrace the unpredictable changes of life, and most importantly, my struggles and successes in empowering myself and taking ownership of my health and happiness. I know that most of my story has not even been written yet, but I have a feeling that I already know the ending: without the waves of emotions and the winds of life, I would have never found and learned to use my wings.

I’m not yet sure what topics or formats this blog will follow. I’m not sure what books I will read or what experiments I will try. But I do know that my writing will touch on hard times and good times, on habits and lessons, on creative ideas and gratitude. I imagine I’ll share tips and ideas based on my experiences, suggested reads and useful apps, inspirational quotes and feel-good moments, and other people’s stories or ideas about happiness. I may start with some inspiration from Gretchen Rubin’s podcast (my recent obsession) or Pema Chödrön’s book Living Beautifully with Uncertainty and Change (my current read).

I can’t wait to start this journey towards better health and happiness with you. Thanks for reading and sharing your stories with me (whether in spirit or in the comments!)

— Sarah

4 thoughts on “Waves, Wind, and Wings: An Introduction

Leave a Reply

