Tip of the Week: Make the Bed

IMG_1735

This week’s tip: Make your bed.

I was never great about making my bed growing up. So to those of you rolling your eyes at this week’s tip — I totally get it. I used to make excuses to myself like, “Why bother making the bed? I’m about to leave my room anyway and tonight I’m just going to crawl back into it!”

Deep down, I always appreciated how nice it felt afterwards to have a freshly made bed, but the struggle was in convincing myself to make the effort in the first place. Like so many good habits, it can be hard to see the benefits before the habit is in place.

So, why is making your bed so important? In case your mother never broke it down for you, I will. 😛

Because it’s starts your day off right

I’ve realized that making my bed can make a big difference in my mindset when I wake up, which can positively affect my mood as the day progresses. Making the bed in the morning is my little way of taking control of the day, right off the bat. Starting off the day with a small feeling of pride and accomplishment helps set the tone for a productive day.

Because it symbolizes order and calm

Your bedroom should be a calming and welcoming place, and having a tidy bed can positively affect your psyche. Decluttering experts like Marie Kondo link unnecessary clutter to increased stress, and happiness expert Gretchen Rubin often says that “outer order leads to inner calm.” You may have also heard the saying “the state of your bed is the state of your head”. Enough said, I think.

Because the survey says so

In a survey of 68,000 people done by Hunch.com, 71% of bed-makers said that they consider themselves to be happy, while 62% of non-bed-makers consider themselves unhappy. Sure, that doesn’t necessarily reflect causation, but I think it’s still pretty noteworthy. Another survey done in the UK by Bupa noted that sleeping in a freshly made bed was the #1 thing that makes people feel great.

Because it’s not that hard

Let’s be honest, making your bed is not that hard, and it will probably only take you a couple of minutes, max. At the very least, it might be worth giving a try for a few weeks to see how it makes you feel.


Struggling to remember to make the bed?
Try these tips to help cement the habit:

  • Put your throw pillows somewhere that is in your own way, like in a pile in front of your door. It’ll be a good reminder to put them where they belong before you leave the room.
  • Put making your bed on your to do list. Sure, you might not see it right away, but when you do, you’ll either get an extra shot of dopamine when you get to check it off, OR you’ll (hopefully) be one step closer to remembering to do it tomorrow.
  • Put a picture of your nicely made bed up in your room. Sounds silly, but maybe when you see it you’ll remember how nice it looks and find your missing motivation!

Still not convinced?
Here are a few other tips to add a little extra value to your bed-making time:

  • Call it a “bed-making meditation” and focus on your breath while you do it. Gretchen Rubin suggests adding the word “meditation” to any dull activity to make it feel like it has more value.
  • Use the two minutes of bed-making to reflect on your to dos or set an intention for the day.
  • Overlap your bed-making habit with your gratitude practice. During each step of the bed-making process, think about something you are thankful for.

So — give it a try! Let me know if establishing a bed-making habit helps improve your wellbeing, OR if you feel as great as those Brits (from the survey I mentioned) when you sleep in a freshly made bed. 🙂

4 thoughts on “Tip of the Week: Make the Bed

  1. Growing up I HAD to make my bed everyday, and I did not like it. I didn’t do it for awhile in my adulthood, but I agree, it really helps to start out my day wth it. Otherwise I feel like my home is especially cluttered, which leads to unnecessary stress to my day. It’s amazing how doing something that takes less than a minute can have such an impact on my day!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Ha, glad you agree! I was totally the same way — my poor mother had to nag me all the time to remember to make my bed, and I totally didn’t appreciate the value at the time. I feel like with lots of habits, being told to do it makes you not want to do it, but figuring out a way to feel intrinsically motivated is how it actually clicks and ends up being beneficial. 🙂

      Like

    • Yay glad to hear it! This morning I tried overlapping my bed-making with my gratitude practice. I felt so productive! Hehe ❤️

      Like

Leave a Reply

